Household Hazardous Waste

Did you know the average household generates more than 20 pounds of household hazardous waste (HHW) per year? As much as 100 pounds can accumulate in the home, often remaining there until the residents move out or do an extensive cleanout. HHW poses safety and environmental concerns in our community. These toxic materials can catch fire or explode if not managed properly causing physical injury to residents, first responders, and solid waste operators. If poured down drains, flushed, or illegally dumped they can contaminate wastewater treatment systems, water supplies, and other natural resources. 

Each year AVCOG organizes a regional HHW collection program. In 2021, 32 communities provided resources to assist their residents in the proper disposal of these materials. Together we diverted 34,960 pounds of hazardous waste, which was the highest in the past six years! 

On the third Saturday of each month May through October Maine residents or property owners can bring HHW to the Environmental Depot located at 424 River Road in Lewiston from 8:00 - 11:45 am. In addition, residents of participating communities have access to six additional one-day HHW satellite collection sites throughout Androscoggin, Franklin, and Oxford counties, open 9:00 am - Noon. Here is the 2022 schedule:

5/21Lewiston Depot7/16Lewiston Depot8/27Bethel Transfer Station
6/11Eustis Transfer Station7/23Norway Transfer Station9/10Jay Transfer Station
6/18Lewiston Depot8/6Mexico Region 9 School9/17Lewiston Depot
7/9Kingfield Transfer Station8/20Lewiston Depot10/15Lewiston Depot

Town administrators can sign up online or send in this Participation Form  by March 18th to avoid a $50 late fee. For more program details please see our 2022 HHW Factsheet or contact Yvette Meunier at 207-783-9186 or 

We’d like to thank the following towns for their participation in 2021 and hope to grow this list for 2022: 

Andover, Auburn, Bethel, Byron, Carrabassett Valley, Dixfield, Eustis, Farmington, Greenwood, Hanover, Jay, Kingfield, Leeds, Lewiston, Livermore, Livermore Falls, Mechanic Falls, Mexico, Minot, Newry, Norway, Otisfield, Paris, Peru, Rangeley, Roxbury, Rumford, South Paris, Weld, West Paris, Wilton, and Woodstock.